Other Free Encyclopedias » Brief Biographies » Biographies: Dan Jacobson Biography - Dan Jacobson comments: to Barbara Knutson (1959–2005) Biography - Personal

Frederick C. Klein (1938-) Biography - Personal, Career, Writings, Work in Progress, Sidelights

chicago sports books love

Born 1938, in Chicago, IL; Education: University of Illinois, B.A., 1959; University of Michigan, M.A., 1962. Religion: Jewish.

Career

Journalist and author. Wall Street Journal, Pittsburgh, PA, New York, NY, and Chicago, IL, reporter, editor, and author of column "On Sports," 1963-2001; Sports Business Journal, Charlotte, NC, columnist, 2001-03.

Writings

(Coauthor) Sam Lewin, The Education of a Horseplayer, Hawthorn Books (New York, NY), 1969.

(With John A. Prestbo) News and the Market, H. Regnery (Chicago, IL), 1974.

(Coauthor) Lem Banker, Lem Banker's Book of Sports Betting, Dutton (New York, NY), 1986.

On Sports: Essays and Musing (collected columns), Bonus Books (Chicago, IL), 1987.

(Coauthor) Carmen Salvino, Fast Lanes: Carmen Salvino and Professional Bowling Grew up Together, Here Is Their Story, Bonus Books (Chicago, IL), 1988.

Sunflower Seeds and Seoul Food: Best of Frederick C. Klein "On Sports" in the Wall Street Journal, Bonus Books (Chicago, IL), 1997.

For the Love of the Cubs: An A-to-Z Primer for Cubs Fans of All Ages, illustrated by Mark Anderson, Triumph Books (Chicago, IL), 2003, 2nd edition, 2004.

For the Love of the Yankees: An A-to-Z Primer for Yankees Fans of All Ages, foreword by Yogi Berra, Triumph Books (Chicago, IL), 2003.

For the Love of the Red Sox: An A-to-Z Primer for Red Sox Fans of All Ages, Triumph Books (Chicago, IL), 2004.

For the Love of Baseball: An A-to-Z Primer for Baseball Fans of All Ages, Triumph Books (Chicago, IL), 2004.

Work in Progress

Currently working on a detective novel.

Sidelights

In 2003 long-time Wall Street Journal sports columnist Frederick C. Klein expanded his sports writing into poetry in the "For the Love of" book series. In the case of his For the Love of the Cubs: An A-to-Z Primer for Cubs Fans of All Ages, Klein offers loyal Chicago baseball fans twenty-six rhyming reasons to cheer for their beloved team, even though the Cubs may not have won the World Series since 1908. Each of Klein's alphabetically organized rhymes is accompanied by a four-color cartoon by well-known illustrator Mark Anderson, and highlights such key Cubs as Sammy Sosa and Mordecai "Three-Finger" Brown. Although the Chicago-born Klein's loyalty may remain with his home-town team, he extends his series to include the New York Yankees and Boston Red Sox, as well as general fans of America's favorite pastime, who he addresses in For the Love of Baseball.

Biographical and Critical Sources

PERIODICALS

Library Journal, July, 1987, Dennis Dillon, review of On Sports: Essays and Musings, p. 90; June 1, 1988, Kenneth Tillman, review of Fast Lanes, p. 134.

Publishers Weekly, June 19, 1987, Genevieve Stuttaford, review of On Sports, p. 110.

Sports Illustrated, October 26, 1987, Robert Schmuhl, review of On Sports, p. 32.

ONLINE

Triumph Books Web site, http://www.triumphbooks.com/ (June 1, 2004).*

Robin Klein (1936-) Biography - Personal, Addresses, Career, Honors Awards, Writings, Adaptations, Sidelights [next]

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or