Other Free Encyclopedias » Brief Biographies » Biographies: (Hugo) Alvar (Henrik) Aalto (1898–1976) Biography to Miguel Angel Asturias (1899–1974) Biography » Peter Ackroyd (1949-) Biography - Awards, Honors, Sidelights - Personal, Addresses, Career, Member, Writings, Work in Progress

Peter Ackroyd (1949-) - Awards, Honors

biography whitbread life prize

Whitbread Award for biography, and Heinemann Award for nonfiction, both 1984, both for T. S. Eliot: A Life; Somerset Maugham Award, 1984, for The Last Testament of Oscar Wilde; Whitbread Award for fiction, and Peter Ackroyd fiction prize from Guardian, both 1985, for Hawksmoor; James Tait Black Memorial Prize for best biography, University of Edinburgh, 1998, for The Life of Thomas More; South Bank Show Annual Award for Literature, 2000, for London: The Biography; named Commander of the British Empire, 2003.

Peter Ackroyd (1949-) - Sidelights [next]

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or